Ask the Computer Guy

Dear Computer Guy: Where do the characters go when I use my backspace or delete them on my PC?

The characters go to different places, depending on who you ask.

The Buddhist Explanation: If a character has lived rightly, and its karma is good, then after it has been deleted it will be reincarnated as a different, higher-order character.

The Mac user's Explanation: All the characters written on a PC and from there if deleted go to straight to PC hell. If you're using a PC, you can probably see the deleted characters, because you're in PC hell too.

Stephen King's Explanation: Every time you hit the Delete key you unleash a tiny monster inside the cursor, who tears the poor, unsuspecting characters to shreds, drinks their blood, then eats them, bones and all. Hah, hah, hah!

The Christian's Explanation: The nice characters go to Heaven, where they are bathed in the light of happiness. The naughty characters are punished for their sins. Naughty characters are those involved in the creation of naughty words, such as "breast", "sex" and "contraception".

Dave Barry's Explanation: The deleted characters are shipped to Battle Creek, Michigan, where they're made into Pop-Tart filling; this explains why Pop-Tarts are so flammable, while cheap imitations are not flammable. I'm not making this up.

IBM's Explanation: The characters are not real. They exist only on the screen when they are needed, as concepts, so to delete them is merely to de-conceptualize them. Get a life.

PETA's Explanation: You've been deleting them?!? Can't you hear them screaming?!? Why don't you go club some baby seals while wearing a mink, you bastard!?!

Posted April 8, 2015

« Arrival in Heaven | Home | Random | Two Beggars in Rome »

Category: Online life -- Prev: Spammer Gets Canned | Next: Why Programmers Should Never Become Ministers